Egypt:Revolution that Mattered

It all began on January 25. A sudden storm changed the course of my life, like many others’ from all corners of the world. The demonstrations of Tahrir Square left me glued to my TV set and laptop 24 X 7. Words like solidarity, revolution, protesters, Egypt, Tahrir sq, Cairo, jan25 and Mubarak became a part of my daily conversation.

The sense of pride and hope kept brewing within me. The constant updates through twitter and Al Jazeera’s live blog gave me strength and a new meaning to start life afresh. I am not an Egyptian, neither do I have an Egyptian friend, but I developed an intense connection with those protesting. I hardly knew anything about politics of the Middle East before the pro-democratic movement in Egypt began. But then I got obsessively involved in Egypt’s grass-root’s revolution.

I kept an eye upon every news update. I watched live streaming of blogs from work, kept my laptop and TV on until I fell asleep and tweeted frantically. I barraged people with frequent updates and most of them started making fun of me. But nothing could demoralize me.

For all those 18 days I have continuously followed the struggle of the Egyptian people. Their stories of bravery engulfed me completely. My interests kept growing and it went beyond a casual observer. Miss on a single news update would seem like a sin to me. I followed every bit that people said in twitter. I followed all the news updates through Al Jazeera, BBC and CNN. Hundreds of blogs and live streaming kept me glued to my laptop and TV set throughout the day and even nights. Sleeps were cut down to max two hours so that no update goes unnoticed.

The peaceful, non-violent struggle against the old order of tyranny, oppression, patriarchy and obscurity became my life. People braved their lives for democratic, free and a just society. Their only demands – democracy, a free nation and respects for human rights of every Egyptian.

I kept a close eye on how Suleiman and Mubarak used every petty tricks and means to break down the spirit of the Egyptian people. The thugs trying to create a terror – but nothing seemed to work, nothing could stop the brave Egyptians.

6 thoughts on “Egypt:Revolution that Mattered

  1. The revolution of Egyptians reminded me of Gandhi. I guess the emotion which people of India were carrying at the time of their independence and the emotion of Egypt were same. They all fought for their freedom and for their prosperity. Happy for Egypt 🙂 I hope things get completely normal for Egyptians.

  2. Good post.. Can relate to you. The uprising at Tahrir Square took place miles and miles away from us sitting here. But there was something about it that ensured each person following the protest through we/print/TV felt a sentiment of liberation. The Egyptians’ indomitable spirit has led them where they are today – they stand liberated from the oppression and tyranny of Hosni Mubarak. The Egyptian struggle not only inspires other nations to fight for democracy, but also urges every person to fight out little situations of life with utmost spirit. I’m glad you drew a parallel here!

  3. I came across ur tweets while randomly following few people to get in touch with what is happening in egypt. Yup i reallly felt that u were an egyptian….u have shown the immense possibility that the virtual world is throwing up to be one with d suffering people and bring about creative changes

Leave a Reply

